In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “This Is Your Life.”. ‘If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.’

What would I do if i stumbled upon a book with my future planned out in it? Probably read it. Although, if I knew that once I’d started I’d have to read the whole thing I’d pause for thought.

It sounds great, no surprises, knowing that there’s a happy ending. Imagine, all of those exams I would know if I had passed or failed before even entering the exam hall! (sorry, I still exams on the brain). You could meet the person that you’re supposed to marry and know they’re the one even before they know your name. It sounds pretty nice. There would be no unknowns, fewer things to worry about knowing what the ending was.

But, what if the ending wasn’t what you thought? What if you never took that trip around Europe? What if you found out that you would pass away young? Imagine knowing when loved ones are going to die, or other awful things, before anyone else knows. You’d have no way of knowing the end until you reached the final page. Also, wouldn’t you then spend much of your life trying to change what you had read? Would you even be able to change it, or would you have to get that awful haircut, just because a book said so?

If I knew that I couldn’t stop reading once I’d started, I probably would never start. Life is for living, if you already know what would happen you would be compelled to follow that path. I believe that you make your life what it is. The good, the bad and the downright ridiculous. I like to think that it’s all up to us. No set path, no luck, no fortune. If there’s a book with my future in it somewhere I hope the pages are blank, the story yet to be written.

