In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Toy Story.”

My favorite toys growing up were my two oldest teddy bears: Pink Ted and Brown Ted (I was a very imaginative kid). Pink Ted was my second ever toy and Brown Ted was given to me by my parents when I was really ill when I WIN_20150622_180951was younger and had to stay in hospital so I wouldn’t be alone. I used to play with them all of the time – they were exactly like Woody in Toy Story to me!

Pink Ted is pretty ratty now, he used to be bright pink (and still is along the seams!) and most of his stuffing has disappeared somehow. Brown Ted is in much better condition, although his fur is showing his age. I suppose they carry the scars of all the things I have been through and the person that those experiences made me today. Their imperfections are visible, whilst many of mine are kept deeper down, but I don’t make apologies for all of the things that aren’t perfect with me and I hope that the people who know me love me anyway, just as I still love these bears with all of their flaws.

