In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Memory on the Menu.”

‘Which good memories are better — the recent and vivid ones, or those that time has covered in a sweet haze?’

Seems like all I’m doing recently is focusing on memories – the ones I have, the ones I’m desperate to make before I go off to university and my whole world changes. The recent memories are vivid and haven’t been warped by anything. I value them a lot because the memories I have of the past two years are of my new friends, and there’s always something special to me about those memories that you build with someone who hasn’t11156413_1027605307252545_5102969148625128701_n (1) known you for years and years. And I like to look back at those times, that were only a short while ago, and figure out when exactly we went from classmates to friends, when we stopped talking about poetry and started sharing every detail of our lives with one another. These memories are clear, bright, it’s like they only happened yesterday, and these are the people who I’m making most of my Last Summer memories with as well, so they’re just that bit more important (the memories and the people), being covered in a sweet haze all of their own. These recent memories include hours spent on the beach, walking in the sea as the tide goes out, chasing it, and a trip to the fair, yelling goodbye to our exams as the rides reached their climax, all of these memories covered by that strange haze that accompanies every sticky summer.

These memories are probably more cherish than older ones because those older ones are changed by fights, revelations and time. I’m still fond of a lot of my older memories, but there is also a little bit of sadness cover many of them, so it’s the newer ones, clear and bright, that I hold closest as more are made.

