In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Heat is On.”

Do you thrive under pressure or crumble at the thought of it? Does your best stuff surface as the deadline approaches or do you need to iterate, day after day to achieve something you’re proud of? Tell us how you work best.’

I’m one of those people that likes to plan, I adore lists and enjoy organising everything I have to do in neat, colour-coded reminders. With revision I take months (starting at Easter), spending my time learning the basics, then panic learning WP_001438obscure facts when I’m a week away from the exam. With assignments I tend to get them done a few days after being set (thanks to my crazy organisation skills) but once they’re done I leave them alone. This was something I started when I was a child; I didn’t want to do any school work at weekends, so I’d dedicate my evenings after school to getting as much work done as I could and I made sure that the first time I did something it was the best I could do, then I’d have the weekends to climb trees, jump off swings and splash in puddles.

For other projects like reading, sewing and writing I’ll hit my stride and be done in a week, but with no deadlines I have the pure joy of doing a task – I feel no pressure to rush, I can just enjoy, take my time and bring something into being for enjoyment only.

My tree climbing days are pretty much behind me now, but I still like having my weekends to myself. I’m sure that when I get to university I’ll end up leaving a few essays until a week before the deadline, but I don’t intend to undo a habit that works so well for me.

