So this is my first go at the Monthly Travels Challenge, although, for this one I didn’t have to travel very far!

Pirate Day 2012
My Pirate Day 2012 crew

On the South coast of England I think it’s safe to say that we are all a little crazy (in a good way) and my hometown is no different. Back in 2012 Hastings managed to gather 14,231 people dressed as pirates on the beach to gain the world record for the most pirates in one place – this is not even counting all of the ‘pirates’ downing rum in the surrounding pubs. I’m proud to say that I was one of those pirates (in the record number, not the pub!) and thoroughly enjoyed myself. As we’ve gotten older it’s become a bit difficult to go every year as we all have different commitments but it’s great when we can get together to sing a sea shanty or two on this great day.

It’s a fun day, with a pirate ship currently being built in the main part of the town, and decorations going up from the shopping center to the historic old town, and there’s something brilliant about seeing a group of teenagers dressed at pirates browsing in New Look. There are also Jack Sparrow look-a-likes, pirate crazy golf, a parade, smuggler adventure and lots, lots more!

Pirate Day is on July every year (as far as I can remember) and falls on the 26th of July this year, if you’re in the area I would definitely suggest coming along (more information can be found online, although as far as I’m aware there is no official page this link is the best one) and if you’re not able to come why not have your own pirate party with friends – there’s nothing like fancy dress and pretend sword fights on a summer’s day!

