In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Always Something There to Remind Me.”

‘A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place.’

Avril Lavigne – What The Hell

‘All my life I’ve been good,
But now whoa, I’m thinking what the hell’

This song takes me back to when I was in year 9, on the German trip, dancing around our house on the first day on our ‘bikini rave’. This was on repeat for the whole hour we were dancing, singing, giving each other piggybacks, jumping on the beds and being silly. It was the first time we were staying away from our parents, in a different country since me and loads of people from my primary school had joined that year. It was a chance to get to know each other better. One of our bonding experiences was the house wars between us and the boys’ house (we still maintain that they started it) and sneaking wine that the teachers had left on our outside table when they took one of our friends to A&E for a fractured toe – we were young and crazy and that trip is defined by this song, played for an hour solidly day one, and several times each day for the rest of the week. Long live Germany, Friends and The Rainbow Chalet!

Doris Day – Que Sera, Sera

‘When I was just a little girl
I asked my mother, “What will I be?’

This is the first song I remember learning, I was at home with my mum and she taught me the lyrics. I bounced around the house singing it until my dad came home. AS soon as my dad was home I ran to him and convinced him to sit down, work shoes and jacket still on, and let me sing it to him. I don’t really remember much else, but this song always take me back to being a child and the excitement children have over the smallest things because everything is a new discovery for them. I also think that it’s a good song to remember, especially in the wait for exam results, that what will be will be.

Ezra Furman – Lousy Connection

‘The century seems like it’s turning out okay
It’s like a game of worldwide karaoke’

This song came on the radio late at night when I couldn’t sleep and I just fell in love with it for a reason that I can’t explain. It just made me smile, it’s the sort of song you want to play as you walk down the street like at the end of a film and not all of the questions have been answered, but you know where to find the answers if you look.

Jens Lekman – Pocketful of Money

‘Oh take me some place decent
Where we meet up with your friends
Where the people are pleasant
Where the music never ends’

This song reminds me of all the times I’ve been sitting out in the sun, watching the world go by but knowing that even that perfect moment, when my skin is warmed by the sun and the only sounds the birdsong and the music, will not last, it will get cold and dark, and I’ll have to go in, or a car alarm will go off, and that the spell of a summer day will be broken. It’s one of my ‘sad’ summer songs, that I listen to that adds to the magic of the day and remind me that it won’t last forever so I had better make the most of it.

Lana Del Rey – Chelsea Hotel No. 2

‘You told me again you preferred handsome men
But for me you would make an exception’

A cover of Leonard Cohen but sung by a woman there is a different slant to the lyrics. I only recently discovered this song but it brings back memories of summers past, the final line ‘That’s all, I don’t even think of you that often‘ makes me think of all of the people I have so many happy memories of but are no longer in my life. It’s a song full of sorrow and pain, but also has a pretty (but fragile) quality.

If you’re looking to make memories with music why not check out my post on UK festivals here.

