In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Fourth Wall.”

‘You get to spend a day inside your favorite movie. Tell us which one it is — and what happens to you while you’re there.’

If I could spend a day inside a movie it would be Adventureland (2009). Set in 1987 it has a great soundtrack – music from the 1960s,70s and 80s which I love – and very pretty scenery. Also, there’s a tiny ‘theme park’ (as in a few rides and games) where I live, and I’ve always had a fascination with it, so it’s like being allowed to visit there after closing time whenever I watch Adventureland.blogpic1

I’d spend my time inside the movie world of the Adventureland Theme Park playing games, going on ‘the music express’, trying to win a ‘giant ass panda’ and dancing in Razzmatazz with Em, James, Lisa P and Joel until my 24 hours are up.

It’s a great film. It’s not, in my view, a real ‘start, middle and end’ story, it’s more like a glimpse into the world of the characters. There’s an ending, but the tone also suggests that the lives of the characters don’t just stop there, they keep going and things aren’t finished for them.

