In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Sweeping Motions.”

‘What’s messier right now — your bedroom or you computer’s desktop (or your favorite device’s home screen)? Tell us how and why it got to that state.’

Right now my room is sort of tidy – the clothes from last night’s celebratory night out are on the floor and my make-up is scattered about but that’s about it. My desk, though, hasn’t been tidy for a few years. I hardly ever use my laptop at my desk or use my desk to lean on for writing. So my desk has become a holder of all things random – there are photo frames, my perfume cage (see My Little World), piece of paper that I should sort, hair-bands are breeding like rabbits there and things from my travels. It’s a mess.

But it works. Sort of. With my – now neat – book shelves and alphabetized CDs and DVDs it’s the one part of my room that is allowed to just be. I’m sure that when I have to start packing for university it will finally become tidied, but until then it’s staying as it is: life is too short to spend attempting to organise that chaos right now.

