In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “That Stings!.”

“we ought to read only books that bite and sting us.”

This prompt is pretty perfect for me, the future English lit student. Sorry, I’m just really excited that I’m going to be a student soon!

Anyway, it depends what you want ‘bite and sting’ to mean. Homer’s ‘The Odyssey’ stings because I just don’t see the big deal so found it a boring read that took far too long. I can normally accept the language of old/classic plays/novels/poems but this is one that I couldn’t get into no matter how hard I tried.

John Green’s ‘Looking for Alaska’ not only bit and stung me, but punched me right in the face. I love that first part of the book, I do, but then after *mumble mumble* I felt so betrayed, it takes a turn that I didn’t see coming. Although, I would definitely suggest it to anyone, it’s meant as a young adult book but I think that it’s something that anyone could enjoy due to the realistic characters and amusing (until *mumble mumble*) story.

I also loved Margaret Atwood’s ‘The Handmaid’s tale‘ … but…. the ending just annoyed me, it was too ambiguous for such an amazing take on a dystopian future, the power-struggles between women and the desire to survive. It was unsatisfying. A great build up but I was left with a real sting of not knowing.

