In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Forever Young.”

‘If there were a real Fountain of Youth, would you drink the water?’

At 18 I’m both old (legal adult status!) and young (I hopefully have another 70 years ahead, maybe more). But that doesn’t mean I get to act young. I’m off to university, I’ll have to cook, clean, shop, iron and many other things myself. I’m going to be responsible for keeping myself alive. That’s a lot of responsibility at the tender age of 18 – which is both adult and teenager.

I think the real problem is that we grow up too fast, at 18 we leave school in the UK and are cast out into the real world for either life as a uni student, work or hanging around the house. Then we’re in our 20s, then 30s, then 40s, then 50s. Not until our 60s do we get a pension and the freedom of children who have left home to do as we want. We spend such a short time being young and care free, then the world calls us into adulthood. I wouldn’t want to be young forever, though, I like the idea of getting old, being surrounded by grand children with laughter lines on my face, but I would like to be young for longer, with fewer responsibilities and a chance to see the world before I get a job and a mortgage and become an adult adult.

