In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Forward Drive.”

‘What is the one thing that drives you to wake up in the morning and do whatever it is you do? Is it writing, family, friends, or something else entirely?’

This prompt actually has me a little stumped. Not just because I don’t actually know what it is that I’ve been doing recently, what it is that I get out of bed for, but also because that’s actually a HUGE question. It’s essentially asking me not why we exist, but why I exist in the way I do.

So, first things first, what I do:

  • Eat, sleep, pack, chat, repeat.
  • And… errmmm….

To be honest, right now I’m in a complete bubble (the theme of yesterdays daily prompt). I’m just ticking things off of my extensive ‘Things To Do Before University’ list. And these aren’t really fun things like travel or learning to play guitar (All These Things I Can’t Do explains my desire to learn to play guitar) but sorting through 18 years worth of belongings and deciding what to throw away, what to keep at home and what to take with me. Then there’s seeing friends and family, which is fun, but also sad as I don’t know exactly when I’ll see them again once I’m at uni.

Ok, I’m not getting up for much. But, I swear, I used to be so productive and work so hard, this is just my summer off.

Why do/did I get up?

  • My family – I always wanted to do well at school because that’s what they valued, that’s what they celebrated and I wanted (and still want) to make them proud of me through my academic achievements.
  • Myself – Because  I want to do well. I want to have something to show for my life (that something will probably be material as well as not, but let’s face it, it’s the world we live in today). I want to give myself all of the opportunities I can. I want to better myself. I want to expand my mind. I want to provide for any future family I might have. I want to offer that future family a good life.

That’s why I work hard, play hard, and sleep for a solid 8 hours (nearly) every night.

