In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Doubters Alert.”

‘What commonly accepted truth (or “truth”) do you think is wrong, or at least seriously doubt?  Why?’

A man said to the universe:
“Sir, I exist!”
“However,” replied the universe,
“The fact has not created in me
A sense of obligation.”
-Stephan Crane-

First of all I would like to say that I don’t believe in fate, soul mates, or any of that kind of stuff. I don’t think you are ever destined to be with someone, or in a certain place, or see a certain thing. I think you do meet/go/see but it’s all down to us and others, it’s not the work of some other power or force. That’s just my view. BUT, I also believe that hard work and will power alone will never (in most cases) get you what you want. You want that to get A*A*A*? Sure, you can revise until 3am, you can write notes until your fingers are stained with the ink from your pen, but if in that final, all deciding exam a question comes up that you misunderstand, or just aren’t as good at, you might not get the grades you wanted. You worked hard, but it didn’t pay off. I’m not saying I think that there is some path you’re meant to follow that doesn’t need the 3 A*s, but that it doesn’t always matter how hard you try, because at some point you will fail.

And we’re told that we should fear failure. Failure equals weak. Failure is to be avoided.

We’re also told, from a very young age, that if we ‘try really, really hard’ we can do it. Which is great, because everything takes effort, some degree of commitment and hard work.

Unfortunately there are also other factors at play. You could be about to beat you PB for a marathon then fall, break an ankle, rip some muscles and never run a marathon again. You could meet the person of your dreams, they could be physically beautiful, match you mentally and like you back, then they meet that other person and marry them, because you were always just their friend, it doesn’t matter that you stood in line for 30hours in the rain to get tickets to see their favourite band for their birthday. Hard work, will power, commitment all have  a part to play, but that doesn’t meant that it’s enough. Not everything is within your power. I still don’t believe that there is a great outside power, I don’t believe in praying, fate, luck. I do believe that you can’t control everything, and sometimes things don’t go to plan, but that, to me, does not mean that there is a greater plan for us all.

I do, however, still say good luck to people, I still respect religion and the views of others. I worked hard to get AAB and get into Kent Uni (8th in the UK for my course), but I also know that had a different set of questions come up I might not have gotten the grades for Kent. I guess I’m saying that you work hard and sometimes things just fall into place, but for me that doesn’t mean that there is someone looking out for us somewhere high above or a force that we can’t understand has something to do with out lives.

