In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Handwritten.”

‘When was the last time you wrote something by hand? What was it?’

The last time I wrote something by hand was last night, when I was writing a list of all the things I still have to do before the move to uni. But the last time I wrote something that really means a lot was a few months ago when I wrote a thank you card for my parents to open when I say my last goodbye before I become a real student.

The card says:

‘To Mum and DadWP_001435

Thank you for all of the support you have given me over the last 18 years. From spelling tests to being able to write an essay detailing the pros and cons of the American electoral system, you’ve always given me the support I needed to do my best. Even when I was in tears – like when I was convinced I would never pass my maths GCSE – you believed in me. Thanks for all of your faith in me and putting up with the tears and stress!

I’m grateful for all of the wonderful opportunities and experiences you have given me. My childhood is filled with memories of our big, blue plastic swimming pool and trips to Disneyland, and my teenage years of live music and being given the freedom to explore this small part of the world, and the wider world on family holidays. I’ve been very lucky to do everything I have, and that’s down to the both of you.’

You can read the rest here: A Little Note To Say A Big Thank You

I think that it’s sad how we hardly ever write to one another any more. I’m not campaigning for a full return to snail mail, but every so often I think that we should get more than bills and bank statements in the post.

