In response to Keeping up with the Jones’

‘Tell us about the one luxury item you wish you could afford, in as much detail as you can. Paint a picture for us.’

I’d love to say that I don’t want any luxury items, just give me world peace, a lifetime to happiness, a job I love. But that’s not entirely true, sure, I’d love all of those things, but we live in a consumer based society and I am a daughter of materialistic age.

So, what I’d really like would be a house.

Ok, not exactly a luxury in 21st century England for most people, but hear me out.

As a student I moved into my uni accommodation in September, I don’t get on with all of my housemates, and some aspects of the actual house aren’t the best (like the heating that will not turn off – it got so bad I was having my window open all day and night in December!) So I can’t wait to move in July into a house with one of my best friends who I met at uni and another of her friends.

The problem is finding a house ourselves. We’ve set up viewings, looked at so many properties online, but we just dont know what we want, what will make us all happy. It’s a little bit scary having to do something so grown up when we can barely drag ourselves out of bed after a 5hr nap.

That is why I’d like a house near my uni, that’s big and nice and suits all of our needs. It’s not that much to ask for…. at least I don’t think so!

