I’ve finally found an hour to actually work on this blog and think about what I want to write – its rather intoxicating having time to do whatever I want!

Instead of focusing 100% on books I’m going to talk about my degree in this post and in part 2 (next sunday) I’ll talk about the books I’ve been reading because some of you might be looking into doing English degrees, have done English degrees or are just curious (and if you not then I’m sorry, please feel free to have a cookie and a nap).

The Degree

What degree am I doing?

English and American Literature and Creative Writing

How long is my course?

3 years although you can apply to be considered for a year abroad, making it into a 4 year course. You can apply once you get to university or whilst you’re still at the UCAS stage. I originally had the 4 year option down on UCAS but my parents said no due to the cost of an extra year, this is when I had no intention of coming to this uni, and then decided to put it as my top choice!

What sort of stuff do I do?

WP_20160206_10_20_41_Pro
Be prepared for your nightstand to look like this

Well, read. Everything. Or, everything that you think students should be reading, no more chick lit for now unless I can find a spare few hours – which is rarer that a unicorn. Each term you do 4 modules, my course has a year long compulsory one (Romanticism) and 2 term long ones each taken in a different term (Narrative Theory and Poetic Theory). I then had to pick at least one other year long module from the school of English, I then got to decide what other modules I wanted to do. I could have done another year long one but decided to do two ‘wild’ ones that are both one term long (Childhood in Fiction and World Literature – not exactly wild but I wasn’t about to do a forensic science one now was I?!). If you’re in the applying stages don’t worry, they’ll explain all of this to you once you’ve been accepted after results!

Do I like my course? Yes, with a little bit of no. I love being able to read so many texts that I otherwise wouldn’t have found the time to read. But it’s hard work, if you’re thinking of doing an English degree consider how many hours you’re willing to be holed up in your room reading because you need to be committed to spending time alone, buried under books.

Any advice for future students? 

Make sure you want to go to university and like the course you’ve picked. It’s ok if you get to university and it’s not for you, but if you don’t want to go in the first place then consider a gap year.

 See HERE for my favourite book

